Vibrant Views Creative Canvases

Exhibition 1 – 20 November 2016

Elizabeth McMorran – Photographic Artist

Excelsior Arts

Having studied Art at Oakham College in Leicestershire and attended the local watercolour Artist Alan Oliver’s course, this inspired me to start painting watercolours 30 years ago. A lot of my watercolours were commissioned and received good reviews in the local press.

Having brought up 3 children, helping and inspiring them all with their Art qualifications, I now had the opportunity to continue my creative venture in the form of photographic Art. Inspired by my spring wedding awakening my creativity to illustrate my photographs on canvas as a progression artistically instead of painting from my photographs as I had done previously.

Living in Freckleton for the past 27 years, deciding to display my work in Lytham seemed the ideal opportunity as I am developing my portfolio incorporating local scenes, as well as my love for flowers. All with my individual perspective of the scene captured.I participated in Lytham Arts Festival 2015 and won a prize for my work being ‘Highly Commended’ and I have also displayed at St Anne’s Music & Arts Festival 2015.

Following on from the local Art Festivals and having created over 200 canvases, I then had the opportunity to curate an exhibition at Park View 4U. My exhibition of 35 canvases reflected a summer feel, personalizing the display with canvases of Park View’s beautiful garden flowers too during September. And a pumpkin head being the centre pieces for my October Autumnal display. Being delighted with the vibrant and colourful array of canvases, I was asked to continue my exhibition which reflected a Winter/Christmas theme. Park View 4U brought a great challenge in curating these exhibitions and proved fruitful too in the amazingly enthusiastic comments and resulting sales.

During the past year I have enjoyed compiling a collection of canvases to display at Warton Hall, Ribble Cruising Club, The Pavilion St.Annes and presently on display at Dotty Gallery in Rutland.

So Excelsior Arts that was formed when I was a watercolour artist painting and signing my last picture 30 years ago has flourished and matured to the exciting new venture I share with you locally today.

 

Leave a Reply

